Three in the same!

One of my weekly clients has this unique vase. It has a small opening at the top which limits the deigns that can be created in it, but it sure can be fun!

These are three different arrangements created in the same vase.

First, a fall design is created from rolled magnolia leaves, straw flower, saff flower, and tulip antirrhinums. I am a firm believer in textures and how important they are in a design. This arrangement just drips with texture! I have to say when I made this one, even I wanted it in my house!

Next, a very spring arrangement. This mono-floral (is that a term?!) creation showcases peonies (they are so beautiful right now!). A half dozen small headed peonies were accented with bound reeds that were looped and bent into a piece of art. The reeds bring in great texture and movement, plus with the red bullion wire wrapping they even bring in a shine! When in doubt, add movement and texture!

Finally, the third arrangement in this blog is an exotic fun creation. Vanda orchids come in some beautiful bright colors making them perfect for spring and summer. I choose my favorite color of these orchids, bright orange! For a unique twist, a short small mazanita branch is laid across the vase prior to the orchids being added. Green bullion wire is formed into a mess and finished off by two loops of plastic covered with and moss. The bright colors of the wire complement the orchids, yet do not over power them because of the minimal use. A bold piece if I say so!

2 comments so far

  1. Cindy Rosales on

    Jacki, The one with the peonies is my favorite. I’ve been buying these every week.
    They are truly spectacular right now, I agree. You know I have them tattooed on
    my arm also. Cindy

  2. Hannah clewer on

    Your work is truly stunning and has inspired me greatly! Your very very talented : )


Leave a Reply

