Results Are In!

I tested for AIFD on July 2nd in San Francisco. AIFD is an organization that brings the best floral designers together to inspire each other and create a standard that is very high and a great honor to be part of. I have wanted to become an AIFD member for multiple reasons but mainly as a personal goal I want to reach. Testing is a challenge in itself. You have five categories (Wedding, flowers to wear, sympathy, arrangement and duplicate) to create an arrangement for each within the four hour time frame. You do not what flowers or products you will be given until 30 minutes prior to the test starts. You also do not know the specifics of the categories until approximately one hour prior to the testing. It is a very nerve racking time and it feels SO good to finish.

The specifics for each of the arrangements were as follows:

Sympathy- An arrangement to compliment an urn

Wedding- a “non- traditional” wedding bouquet

Flowers to wear- a shoulder piece

Arrangement- An arrangement for your mother’s birthday (I am almost positive that is correct…. I don’t have the paper work in front of me)

For the most part I was happy with my arrangements. Of course there is always something I would have changed or tweaked, but given the time frame and products we were given I was happy with the results overall. In my option my weakest pieces are my sympathy arrangement and flower to wear. I am not a fan of my sympathy arrangement AT all and I would have completely redone it if I had the time. My “flowers to wear” was too ordinary to me. I guess I have a very high standard for my corsages, after all I guest lecture on how to make them!

I really liked my wedding bouquet and thought it was very fun and funky. It is meant to be held with the cascade to one side creating an unique look. I love the bells of Ireland swooping in the back and love the movement it had overall.

My arrangement was another one I liked a lot. It is defiantly an arrangement my mom would have been happy to get and I liked how I used the roots that came still attached to the stock stems.

So I guess it is time to tell you my results! When the seven evaluators score your arrangements they average the 10 categories (per each arrangement) to come up with a number out of 5. The highest and lowest of each arrangement is dropped and the remained five scores are averaged to determine the score of the arrangement. You need 20 points to make AIDF and 16 points to make CFD. I scored high in my duplication design and my flowers to wear while my arrangement and sympathy were my two lowest scores. My total was 19.84. I JUST missed AIFD my .16 points. It was defiantly a disappointment but I know that I am a talented designer that will surely pass AIFD at some point. It was just not my year. It was quite a surprise to some other VERY talented designers not pass this year as well. BUT I am very happy and proud of two of my friends who did pass AIFD. I know they are both deserving of the letters after their name and I will join them one day! Congratulations to all of the members who passed! I have been told by many people (including members of AIFD) that I am a very talented designer and not to let this get me down. I will continue to work very hard at my craft and I am VERY thankful for all the wonderful people who have supported me and who inspired me to try again and not give up.

Below are some of my designs (Thanks Lee for the pictures!).

1 comment so far

  1. Amy b on

    Darn! So close! I have seen a lot of high end wedding flowers in the past two years and you are right up there with them. Keep it up, girl!


Leave a Reply

