Our Wedding! Part 2: Up to the I Do’s

There was quite a bit of planning that went into the wedding but a few things were simple decisions. First I knew (and Chad thankfully agreed) that a private ceremony was the way to go. I have a hard time being the center of attention sometimes and the pressure would have been too much! Despite some objection to the decision we only had my in-laws and my mom and Bob (who is better than a grandfather to me). I love the feel of the courthouse in Santa Ana. It had a great historic décor and frankly I knew it was the perfect place!

We also knew that we wanted to have the reception in our backyard. We were trying to plan a budget conscience wedding yet still have the things that were important to us. There was some elements that splurged on and do not regret it at all!

Third and probably most important to me was that I was adamant that there were no cameras allowed at the ceremony besides the photographers. That was a pretty simple request since there were only four guests but I wanted them to actually SEE the ceremony and not through the viewfinder of the camera (mainly my mother…).

I have AMAZING friends who were very involved with the set-up of the wedding and I could not have pulled it off without them! Seriously guys, you are the BEST friends anybody could ask for, you’re family!

Some of my favorite getting ready pictures:

Don’t quite know what my Mom was so excited about but I still love that picture!

As you can tell Peter was a HUGE help the morning of the wedding; putting together the ipod play list, holding mirrors and lint rolling Chad!

Chad is ADDICTED to Mountain Dew so it was only fitting as soon as he walked in the door he had to have one!

Bob is an amazing man! He is my “Grand Father’  despite not being blood related. He HATES pictures and yet is very photogenic. This is probably my favorite picture of him ever taken! He is so serious here and this picture captures his emotions from the day, nervous and wanting it to be perfect.

At the Courthouse:

I have told this story a few times but I still think it is one of the greatest things that could have happened! WE GOT KICKED OUT OF THE COURTHOUSE!!! Yes, you read that right. We rented the upstairs courtroom for our weddings. The actual ceremony is quite short since it is just the basic vows and ring exchange, but it was perfect just the way it was. After the ceremony we wanted to get some pictures of course and we went some places we were not supposed to. We sat in the jury box, behind the judge’s desk and when the security guard found us we were behind the glass partisan in the jury room. Needless to say he was not happy with us so he asked us to leave. At least it was AFTER we were married!

 

Photos: Duncan Stewart, www.StewartWeddings.com

Make-up: http://makeupbydebra.com/

Dress: Ebay (Vintage)

Dress Alterations: Designer Touch Group http://www.designertouchgroup.com/

Hair: Friend who works at http://www.supernovahairandtattoo.com/

Shoes: Nine West (sorry they have been discontinued!)

Flowers: Floral Design By Jacqueline Ahne www.jacquelineahne.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

