MOLAA Event

I like to consider myself and artist. After all flowers are amazing elements to create art out of! When I create a stylized arrangement I truly look at each stem and am inspired by the flower. It tells me what angle to use and can completely change my vision. I had always been into art. When I went to Paris a few years ago I spent most of the time wondering aimlessly except with I was in museums, my favorite being the Picasso museum. It was SO inspiring to me and I loved every minute!

When I was asked to be part of this event at MOLAA (Museum of Latin American Art) I of course accepted. Every summer MOLAA has a summer camp for students to come and learn Spanish as well as about the Latin American cultures. They are taught about different artist and even get to create art themselves! The event was to raise scholarships for the children in the neighborhood to join. It is a great program and I am happy to support them!

The event was held at the museum (which also has some BEAUTIFUL weddings!) in the courtyard. The back wall is a vibrant color and there is succulents planted around the perimeter. I did a mix of styles including succulent planters and clusters of budvases. We also included feathers in all of the arrangements to tie in with the theme of the event. Some of the succulents were placed in metal tins and clustered together for a larger impact while others were in a single black wooden box.

 

For the fresh flowers I had a lot of fun!

Most of the fresh flower tables had multiple budvases on with “mono-floral” arrangements. This form of color blocking created a bright and interesting look.

There were also a few tables with single arrangements.

It was a wonderful event to be a part of and I look forward to participating in it again! It is a great cause and I always enjoy the wonderful people I met!

Here is the link for MOLAA, it is a great place to visit if you have a chance! http://www.molaa.com/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

