Planning

There are SO many details when planning a wedding. It can be overwhelming, but I am here to help!  When planning the flowers with a bride I like to make it as easy as possible and that all starts with the consultation.

There are a few things I suggest the couple had decided BEFORE we meet for the consultation:

First, a wedding date. The wedding date can determine many things when it comes to flowers. Certain flowers have a very short season and the cost can vary with in that season. A great example of this is the Anemone. They are mainly available beginning in December and through May. I have seen them in limited available right now and they are about $2.50 a stem. When they are more readily available and at their peak season they will be closer to $1.75 a stem. Also flowers prices can be higher around certain holidays. The most noted one is Valentine’s Day. Roses increase starting February 1st and will return to normal prices after Valentine’s Day. But they are not the only flower to increase in price.

Second is a wedding location. Living in southern California we are SO lucky to have pretty much any type of venue we can imagine! From the beautiful beach view to the vineyard weddings there are MANY options. The surrounds at the wedding play a huge part in the look of the wedding. For instance tropical flowers are perfect for a beach wedding. Anthiriums, orchids, ginger remind me of Hawaii and the natural beauty of being on the beach. When placing those same flowers inside a very romantic ballroom they can feel out of place. With that said the tropical flowers can be accents in more romantic mixes and look amazing! For instance the arrangement below has the very topical anthirums mix with more of the classic flowers and would add a wonder unique touch on for a ballroom reception!

About the consultation:

Consultations typically last about 30-90 minutes and cover all of the floral details from the bouquets to the centerpieces and everything in between. If you have pictures that you are drawn to bring those along so I can get a better scene of your inspiration or you can peruse my books for inspiration as well.

I like to meet at Starbucks (…slightly to contribute to my addiction to their iced tea lemonade…) and I have a list of my preferred locations. I choose the locations to be close to freeways therefore easy to get to. If you would like the list, I can send it your way!

I have a form that I fill out with the Bride at the consultation which includes the numbers of bouquets, styles, colors and flowers. The numbers can be tweaked if you have more or less tables or add bridesmaids.

After the consultation:

You will receive the quote within 3 business days after the consultation. It will have the details we discussed including pictures from your inspiration and/or pictures of the flower types we discussed. I speak a foreign language I like to call “Flowerdorkism” so I want to make myself as easy to understand as possible! I include a price range for most of the pieces with approximant sizes that way if you decide you would prefer one size over the other you have a comparison in cost. When we sit down for the consultation I do not require a budget but it is helpful so I can make sure what we discuss is within reach.

Since I accept a limited amount of bookings per month, I do book dates first come first serve. After you receive the quote your date is reserved for you for two weeks. If you have not made a decision within these two weeks the quote prices are still good however I may book another wedding on your date. Summer months fill up the quickest and I highly suggest as soon as you know you would like to move forward you contact me. To reserve your wedding date I require a signed contract and a nonrefundable deposit.

1 comment so far

  1. Kate on

    Absolutely beautiful!


Leave a Reply

